Food Rules

What’s up blogosphere!  Man, I keep coming up with brilliant ideas for what to write about here, but then usually forget.  It’s like last night, I had this awesome dream that I came up with this 10-bullet point list of reasons why Obama and the Democrats are awesome and why Republicans aren’t, and then as soon as I woke up I forgot what was on the list.  Let me tell you though, I came up with it! : )  (No offense to my Republican friends. lol  You could write the opposite list and I would still love you.)

Well let’s see, it’s Saturday morning, errr afternoon now, and I’m just sitting here at home eating some Newman’s Own Spelt Pretzels that my mom bought us at Whole Foods the other day.    We went to get a few extra ingredients for fajita night and my wonderful mom also bought us some good snacks and groceries.  She is giving everyone she knows a copy of Michael Pollan’s latest book (and it’s an extremely short, coffee table style book) called Food Rules.  (Does Pollan know this has a double meaning as rules for eating food, and food (the real stuff) rules as in rocks!?  Hopefully he knew that himself and I am not the only super clever person in the room.)  My mom became a vegetarian after reading Skinny Bitch a few years ago (a book which has really tempted and somewhat motivated me to make the same switch).  She has been losing weight, building muscle mass and just all around getting super healthy and awesome — go Mom!  Her latest thing is really looking at all the nasty ingredients in processed, prepared foods — all the preservatives, harmful chemicals, unpronouncables and such.  The reason I bring all of that up was just to say that while she was looking forward to going to Whole Foods with me since they don’t have one in Fargo-Moorhead where she lives, she left saying how disappointed she was in the store for still carrying all the bad food.  I guess it’s a matter of what sells, and having both options for the consumer (the healthy and the tasty but not healthy at all).

I didn’t mean to get on a food kick here, just kind of stream of consciousness, but did anyone else watch Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution last night?  I only caught about 30 minutes of it because I had to go meet Tom for dinner, but it’s really great that something like this is happening and that it’s on TV.  Basically this chef from the UK has gone to the most unhealthy and obese county in the United States (it’s in West Virginia), and he’s going to assess and then totally revamp the school menu that children there eat five days a week.  It was tough to watch him with the lunch ladies who, though meaning well, didn’t understand that there was any problem with all the frozen and fake food they were serving and just as sad, had no idea that they could prepare fresh, healthy, real food for West Virginia’s children at about the same cost and timeframe.  I loved his comment that he doesn’t care if adults choose to eat crap, but he does care if we serve it to children.  I agree and we must give them the best chance of a healthy life as possible.  I hope I can catch more episodes of this show.

Well I have much more to say but gotta go, so I will continue with more random posts later on.

Leave a Reply

